Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Arrivederci Rome, Buongiorno Florence

    June 20, 2016 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Editor's Note: From this point on, blogs were written once I was already home, so there's a good chance some details may be omitted...

    Early morning bags to coach, which I nearly missed because I forgot to set an alarm... Thanks to Carly for waking me!!
    Short drive back to Vatican City for our guided Vatican tour. We had the same tour guide as the previous day's Colleseum tour, and I'm not sure she was a massive fan of our group, she seemed to lose patience with us a bit... But she was very knowledgeable, so it was amazing to learn about and see all the amazing artwork throughout the different buildings and chapels.
    The Sistine Chapel was spectacular, and I could have spent more time looking around, there are so many incredible paintings all over the walls and roof. I found St. Peter's Basilica even more breathtaking, it is just massive, you could spend hours taking in the all the artwork and sculptures.
    We headed back out into the main square, and had 15 minutes to quickly use the facilities, grab something to eat, then head back to the bus, after saying more goodbyes, this time to Jorge!
    We made our way on the drive to Florence, but we had a fun stop on the way in a little town called Pisa! Famous for it's leaning tower, we headed into the main area for our photo challenge set by Tamara - take the most creative photo, rather than the standard 'holding up the tower' pic. I'm not the most creative person, but last minute decided to take a picture 'holding up' one of the other buildings, with the leaning tower obviously in the background. I was pretty happy with the pic, although I think some people thought I had seriously missed the real tower!
    A bit of fun and we were onto Florence! We arrived at our hostel quite late, around 8.15pm, had a quick included dinner, and then Tamara was going to take a few people to a karoke bar. I desperately wanted to go along, but also really needed a shower and a night in, and as it turned out, most people felt the same. I spent the night in with my roomies Alexis, Morganne and Enhle, and we all turned in at around 11.30pm.
    Read more