Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Homeward bound

    June 30, 2016 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I woke up feeling quite blue - I couldn't believe the holiday was nearly over. My flight wasn't until around 2.30pm at Gatwick airport, so I got up at around 9am to ensure I had plenty of time to get organised and get to the airport.
    I was ready to check out by 10am, and made my way on foot to Kings Cross Station, suitcase in tow. I made my final stop at Pret for breakfast, had my last walk past platform 9 and 3/4, and made my way to catch the Victoria Line to Victoria station, where I was able to change trains to one that would take me to Gatwick.
    The Gatwick train was much more comfortable, more like a V Line train back home. The journey probably only took an hour an a half, so I had plenty of time to check in, pass through security and have a look around the airport.
    While standing in the check in queue, I started to worry if I would be over the bag weight limit, but once I got to the desk, I realised I could have had 30kgs, and I was under 20kgs... What a waste, I could have done so much more shopping!
    I found a bathroom, went through security and found a Harrods store inside! I had managed to miss going to Harrods in London, so at least I got a small dose there!
    I went in search of a bar to have a final Aperol Spritz, and found Union Jacks Bar, which was a part of Jamie's Italian, owned by Jamie Oliver! I sat at a table with my Aperol Spritz, and ended up chatting to a family who were travelling for a wedding. They were actually playing a music quiz, and when they got stuck on an answer I jumped in. They were lovely, but soon had to leave to catch their flight, so I was left to finish my drink.
    By the time I made my way through some of the shops and found my way to my gate, and had another quick bathroom stop, it was almost time to board.
    I made my way onto the plane, and was in an isle seat.
    And just like that, I was leaving London, and ending my European adventure...
    Read more