Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Challenging day

    June 28, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    Today was challenging but I (re) learned some import l lessons-
    1. Let fellow pilgrims help you. Charles helped me adjust my backpack which greatly reduced my hip and lower back pain. By mid day, I had learned to lean away from the sea wind and use my poles for physical support.
    2. Acknowledge the talents and skills of others. Because I was struggling, I encouraged Charles to walk in front to set the pace. He kept us going at 2.7 mph along the coast and when we turned toward the Central route, he kept us safe on tiny, busy country roads. I was truly thankful for his leadership.
    3. Trust in God. Using the Brierley guidebook, Apple Maps, and Google maps, we safely negotiated the unmarked route from Vila do Condo to Sao Pedro de Rates. Amid cornfields and farms, we saw no yellow arrows anywhere. It felt like we were creating this path. With Charles’ guidance, I knew God was walking with us.
    4. Grace is in abundance on the Camino. Today was marked by joyful grace. We enjoyed a respite in an empty courtyard, arriving for lunch at closing time. The lady at Cafe Barbosa graciously fed and watered two tired pilgrims plus we used her bathroom.
    5. Love, kindness, and history. Now we are in Albergue Sao Pedro do Rates, the oldest albergue in Portugal. The pilgrims are from Germany, Canada, France, DC, London-so friendly and fun. The hospitelero was gracious and helpful.

    Charles has some foot issues, so I reminded him that we can take a day off. He’s not ready for that, but we’ll play it be ear.
    Goodnight!
    Read more