Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Iria Flavia to O Melladoiro

    July 6, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    6:00 am, out the door after a vending machine coffee. Neither of us studied the route, we just started walking. It was a slow, constant, uphill slog for 6 hours! I was wiped out!

    Our pilgrim passport is full of stamps that remind us of churches, restaurants, and albergues along our way. Tomorrow when we arrive in Santiago we’ll get our final stamp at the cathedral (or tourist office?). I can’t believe we are nearly there.

    I had a lot of time to reflect today. I feel honored that my brother would do this journey with me. I feel blessed to have the wherewithal to be here. I have enjoyed getting to know new pilgrims. I have been challenged to think and talk about my faith. It has been a good trip.

    I napped this afternoon in a glorious, private bunk bed in a clean, expansive albergue. Sheets, pillow, towel, laundry. Helpful staff and pilgrims.I feel welcomed, respected, and cared for.

    Santiago, here we come!
    Read more