Satellite
Show on map
  • Canterbury

    July 12, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    And the fun begins.

    Fairly uneventful train journey here although I did find St Pancras International Station a tad confusing when I had only a few minutes to make a connection.

    After a somewhat excessive family meal yesterday evening I couldn’t face my sushi in a box lunch. Had it for tea instead but a day spent in my rucksack being lugged on and off trains didn’t help its appearance very much.

    Just to get into the mood of this pilgrim lark I attended the evening service at the cathedral. Undoubtedly my first and last Anglican service or Choral Evensong to give it the proper title. Apart from the guys in white gowns parading up and down it featured the girls choir. Made for an interesting comparison with the last choral event I attended, namely Glynice’s Sing in the City choir performing in the Ross Bandstand in Princes Street Gardens. Audience participation seemed to be frowned on and to be fair I didn’t recognise any of the songs or tunes. The notes seemed higher than my comfortable range. The lassies did very well though, even if they didn’t attempt any of the choreographed movements that SitC choir insist on doing.

    Now spending the evening trying to set up this Penguins caper. It’s all go.
    Read more