Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Tournehem-sur-la-Hem 10 miles

    July 17, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    An interesting start to the day. Situation probably familiar to many who camp. There is a reluctance to get out of the sleeping bag and tent and trek to the loo too often during the night. So when morning comes there can be a certain urgency especially for gentlemen of rather advanced years. Now last night’s campsite had decided to only provide 2 traps in the nearest toilet block. Usually quite sufficient I’m sure. But I have noticed a tendency of some gents to simply take up residence in the morning and wait for nature to take its course. And this can sometimes take some time, not something I suspected I had in abundance. Faced with 2 locked traps my French was not up to enquiring whether the gentlemen were expecting to be long. Luckily there was another block somewhere which I simply had to find and get to in time.

    It would have been lovely to have followed that stramash with a nice breakfast. Nothing available. Luckily I had purchased a Snickers bar a couple of days ago for such an eventuality. Washed it down with some water and off I went.

    Every now and then I came upon a seat, a bench or even a picnic table put beside the path for walkers or cyclists but today I came across the next level. Not only were there 2 picnic tables placed under shade but it also had its own composting toilet. The only slight drawback was that I had nothing to eat and, after the minimal breakfast, there was no real need for the loo either. Never mind it’s the thought that counts.

    Those following my route may have noticed that I don’t seem to take the straightest path each day. Indeed today I started going north, back towards Calais. This seemed to be so that I could visit the ruins of the 15th century Chapelle de Saint-Louis. Not totally convinced it was worth the effort but the rain possibly detracted from my appreciation of its finer points. The subsequent locked gate didn’t help although I do prefer a locked gate to a barbed wire fence.

    Just before reaching the campsite I came upon an open cafe. Not bad for a Monday in France. The only thing that madam was able to produce was a Croque Monsieur but I was in no place to turn it down.

    It was sufficiently cheap that I have returned this evening to see what she could manage in the evening. I’m not sure what the problem is but it turns out despite the board outside promising delights such as moules frites all that was available was some sort of cold stew and frites. I suspect the chef doesn’t do Mondays.
    Read more