Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Corbeny 18 miles

    July 29, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Rained heavily overnight which made me a little concerned because the guidebook’s description of today said “Prepare for mud and mosquitoes in damp weather”. Fab.

    No breakfast available which didn’t worry me too much as I was sure I would pass something on my way out of town. Except I didn’t. When I reached the next village the only boulangerie was shut for a month from 21st July. Do the locals just not eat for a month? Did manage to get a wee local shop about noon. Just as well I wasn’t any later because he said he closes at 12.30pm for a couple of hours. All he had was a fairly nasty packet of sandwiches, banana and fruit juice. Sat on some steps and eat what I could. It did.

    The day stayed dry up until the last few miles but felt a bit of a slog especially as my phone died and my power bank didn’t work so I was left in silence. Get so used to Desert Island Discs it seems really strange to walk in silence.

    Lucky to get in tonight’s hotel as it shuts for the whole of August. Dinner in the hotel was fine which was as well because it’s the only game in town.

    Continuing to try to dry out the tent overnight. By the time I get it dry I will have another night’s camping and it will all start again.

    Major thunderstorm not long after I reached the hotel. That would have given me something to think about if I had been a bit later.
    Read more