Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Champlitte 15 miles

    August 12, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Well all I can say about last night is thank goodness I am only 5 ft 7 as I banged my head often enough even with that rather modest height. Just the strangest room I have ever slept in.

    While “enjoying” the usual rubbish breakfast it occurred to me that the pilgrim diet has virtually no fruit and vegetables at all and it is quite difficult to improve it. Nothing is available at breakfast unless you count orange juice. Lunch doesn’t usually happen at all except for a Snickers bar and dinner seldom has any veg options at all.

    So I made a mental note to try harder to source f & v whenever possible. Luckily today I passed a supermarket on the way out of town this morning and purchased a couple of bananas and a massive Pink Lady apple for lunch. Start as I mean to continue.

    Walking was fairly uneventful except for a thunderstorm for the last half hour. No point in getting the waterproofs out as I would be washing out my clothes as soon as I arrived anyway and it wasn’t cold.

    Managed to book a pilgrim’s place for tonight at the last minute. Quite relieved as I have avoided wild camping so far and I was in no hurry to start. This place is a bit grim - the shower has been blocked since the last occupant had a shower but it is only 20€ and so far I seem to be the only occupant. Just one bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds crammed in.

    No restaurant but there is a supermarket in walkable distance. Went for gazpacho and a sort of “prawn on a bed of cold mixed veg” thing with a lemon meringue pie to follow. For those interested in such things a litre of gazpacho is quite a lot. And I have some things for breakfast/lunch tomorrow. Doing my best with the f & v stuff.
    Read more