Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Besancon 20 miles

    August 15, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Slightly unusual breakfast as it had been left the previous night by my hosts. Slice of plum tart (that should have been last night’s dessert), banana and lots of coffee. Couldn’t face the bread and an egg that had also been left.

    Did the usual packing of the rucksack only to wonder where the waterproof cover had gone to. As mentioned before I can live without being able to see but that cover is vital especially as it was raining at the time. So everything out of the bag to find the blessed thing.

    Another long, hot and sweaty day walking. Highlight was lunch of a banana, snickers bar and a warm can of Orangina. Very pleasant. Found a couple of cemeteries during the day to keep the water topped up.

    This morning’s route was described in the book as a morass of mud, mire and mosquitoes. It did have its moments but it wasn’t that bad. No sign of mosquitoes anyway.

    Had my first equipment failure a while back. My power bank stopped working completely and was promptly ditched. Needed replaced as on a long day my phone needs carefully nursed so as not to run out and leave me completely lost. I would have no idea where I was staying or where I was in the first place. This is the largest city I pass through in France so I thought I would easily get one. Except today seems to be some sort of French National holiday. All shops shut. And they don’t open that early tomorrow. Fortunately Amazon Prime came to the rescue and one sourced, ordered and paid for from the comforts of my bed. Glynice can bring it out next week when she comes.

    The place I am staying tonight is massive. Built in 17th and 18th centuries and could hold hundreds. Seems to be just me here though. But when last night’s pilgrim turned up on spec they turned him away saying there was no space. Bizarre. I think they don’t like people just turning up. Advance booking required.
    Read more