Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Busey-les-Gy 18 miles

    August 14, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    There is something about watching lightening flashing nearby while having breakfast that encourages a degree of tardiness in a pilgrim. I have never been described as a fast mover first thing in the morning but I took that to new heights this morning. It was only once I was convinced that the small thunderstorm had indeed passed us by that I ventured forth.

    All went well for about an hour before the tell-tale rumble re-appeared and a few heavy drops started. Panic stations to get the waterproof cover on the rucksack before it got really wet. It’s too warm to worry about getting wet myself but I wouldn’t want my bag contents to get soaked. Passport, testimonial, credit cards etc as well as sleeping bag and so on are best to be kept dry. But despite threatening nothing really came of it although it did try again once or twice in the morning before it settled down to just blue sky and heat.

    Was having a lovely blether with Anne when I passed what turned out to be the only open shop/bar/cafe in the whole day. Didn’t want to stop and interrupt the chat. Not getting food wasn’t the issue as I had a banana and apple that I have been carrying a while that needed eaten but I missed getting liquid as it turned out there were no water possibilities today either. And it was a hot one.

    My host last night had suggested a shortcut for today that brought the distance down from 22 miles on the official route to a more pleasant 18 miles. Would have been rude to ignore local info so I went for it. It made for a lot of road walking on what turned out to be a busier road than I would have liked but I was grateful on arrival that I didn’t have another 4 miles to walk especially as tomorrow is a 20 miler.

    A strange incident happened as I got close to finish. A local worthy started speaking to me and asked if I wanted a photo. I assumed he meant did I want him to take a photo of me. We are both well past the age of taking selfies (as you may have noticed) so I just thought it was a kind gesture so agreed. He nipped inside the neighbouring barn and came out holding a muckle great cockerel. I now thought he wanted me to hold the beast while he took a photo of us. Why, who knows? But no, he proceeded to stick this thing on his own head and pose for me to take the photo. Which I duly did and you can enjoy at your leisure.

    I am in a gite for pilgrims tonight and I have a fellow pilgrim. From Luxembourg I think and only started a couple of days ago but looks like we might be covering the same sort of distances so he might become a bit of an issue. I would so much prefer to be on my own.

    Dinner was provided which was just as well as there was nothing available anywhere else. It did.
    Read more