Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 37

    Pontarlier 15 miles

    18. elokuuta 2023, Ranska ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Last night ended up being 72€ which I thought was pretty good for dinner, bed and breakfast with that view.

    Started this morning with a 500m climb but luckily most of that was in shade. Spectacular walk up beside a river through trees. The photos don’t really do it justice. There were places where you really did not want to slip so I was grateful that the ground was dry. Would have been a bit of a knee trembler if muddy. Lovely stop half way up for a litre of sparkling water and an Orangina. (Plus my banana and Snickers bar). Views are so much better since Besancon although the hills do make for harder going.

    Another youth hostel tonight. Interesting shower cabinet. Tiny, walled on 3 sides and with a pair of doors that opened inwards. Luckily, I have lost a couple of pounds since I started but it was still a squeeze. And then I dropped my precious wee bar of soap. The contortions involved in picking it up would have caused much mirth if anybody had been watching but I was just worried about what would have happened if I had got stuck. With inward doors that would have been me until a cleaner turned up in the morning.

    Out for another Japanese meal tonight. Strange that it is such good value here. All the French restaurants seem pricey unless you just want a burger and fries and I think I have had enough of them. I suppose Scottish restaurants are dear in Scotland.

    I think I may have realised why I don’t have much of an appetite here. Because it is hot I am having a litre of chilled sparkling water with every meal. Once you have got one of those in your tummy there ain’t much room for anything else.
    Lue lisää