Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Orbe 18 miles

    August 20, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    My hostess warned me at breakfast that today would be hot and so it proved. Started with 150m of gentle climbing and then it looked like downhill the rest of the day. Wasn’t quite like that but enough downhill to make my feet hurt. The soles of these shoes are wearing thin and so I feel every small stone especially on downhill sections. Only got a couple of days in them before the cavalry is coming bringing replacements as well as all sorts of other goodies like more contact lenses, another wee tube of toothpaste etc.

    Stopped at a supermarket at the first village to get something for lunch. Thought it a little strange that although the village was small the supermarket was massive and the large car park was packed. On a Sunday morning? Twigged after a while that a large proportion of the cars were sporting Swiss number plates. I was less than 5 miles from the Swiss border and folk were coming across to stock up.

    Bought a litre of Orangina, some bananas, cookies and Snickers. A healthy diet. Sat outside in the car park looking like a complete dosser while chomping away. Little disappointed that no one offered any money. Didn’t even give me a second glance. Maybe they are used to pilgrims.

    Nothing much to the Swiss border but I was amused how the narrow gravel path in France became a full-blown very smooth road in Switzerland. Amazing what unlimited money does.

    Before crossing the border I had visited my last French cemetery to stock up with water. None to be seen anywhere. Bit upset as I had finished my supplies in anticipation. Had a further 5 hours of very hot walking to do without any liquid. After reaching the campsite I have drunk 5 litres and will take another litre in to the tent with me.

    The campsite was next to a large outdoor swimming pool which had a restaurant. Fab. Had to sit inside where it was boiling because it looked like every outside table had at least one smoker. Smoking seems just as trendy here as it is in France.

    Prices were fairly scandalous. I went for pasta carbonara and a large bottle of water, being about the cheapest on the menu but still got through 25.50SFr. Ouch.
    Read more