Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    DAY FOURTY SEVEN

    March 30 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Today was very much about Warbirds over Wanaka and Grants 70th and what a day it was too. We were woken about 6am by traffic and voices. By 6.30, I had had enough and got up to see what was going on. My word did I get a shock on looking out the window to see a huge streem of cars going very slowly passed
    The gates didn't open till 7.30 for a 10am show so I was rather suprised to see so much traffic so early. My curiosity satisfied I went back to my nice warm bed to wait for the alarm to go off at 7.15. As it happened I couldn't settle so by 7am we were both up and having breakfast. Crazy! Just around 8am it was decided Driver and I would walk over and set up a good viewing spot since we were ready. So that's what we did. Warm jacket, gloves and wooly hat were needed for that hour of the morning but it wasn't long before the layers were being peeled off. It turned out to be a cracker of a day perfect for an air show. So cool having the Mahoneys company and to share the excitement of which there was plenty. And "yes" we'll be back.
    Random photos. Plenty of food stands and variety of food. Not enough coffee trucks. Relaxing by our motorhome after a big day. Sharon and I have been discussing the fascinating cloud formations down here and another gorgeous sunset.
    Read more