Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Kathmandu, Bagbazar-Baktapur-Nagarkot

    November 28, 2022 in Nepal ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    After an hour's walking, I found the bus stop to take me on the first part of a two-bus journey from Kathmandu to Nagarkot. My reasoning for making this journey at all was that I'd learnt that Nagarkot is an interesting place in itself and offers a good view of the Himalayas - on a clear day. The classic advice is to stay overnight in Nagarkot and rise early for the expected clear sunrise. My bus arrived there around midday.
    I got chatting to a Welsh feller and his Nepali mate, and we stuck together for most of the day. Thankfully, the Nepali lad knew the territory and was a huge help.
    Even caught a local wedding procession before jumping on the bus in Baktapur.
    The bus rides were hilarious: the traffic was manic in the towns and the road surface was absent in much of the hilly areas. But, we got there.
    The worst bit - a hike of 1 1/2 hrs from Nagarkot to the viewing platform at the top of the mountain.
    The best bit: even with a misty view, seeing the Himalayas was a bit special.
    Read more