Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Chenang (and further afield) Langkawi

    December 5, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Now we're cooking with gas. This is a lot more like it.
    Google tells me that my guesthouse for last night and the next 3 is just over a kilometre. It feels much longer. Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tengah (recognised spelling, two adjoining beaches) are one of the premier beach-type places on the island. That's obvious as the town is totally geared up for tourists and travellers.
    Had my first helping of dragon fruit chunks - mmmn, strange but nice.
    Went for a swim on Cenang Beach - the water was actually warm even though it was overcast.
    Then (impulsively) I hired an absolutely beast of a motorsickel (photo, proof). £6 for the day, £10 deposit in case I nick it and ride it all the way home.
    I circumnavigated the island, anti-clockwise, dropping in first at Durian Perangin Waterfalls: pretty interesting and free.
    Next proper stop was at Datai Bay. It's tiny and cute, out of the way so not many people make the journey there. Another swim.
    As I promised to return the beast at 8pm, and I didn't know how long the journey would take; got back on the road and headed for Cenang, arriving around 5pm.
    Legs aching, legs scratched, knackered (again). I think a lazy night in sounds good.
    Read more