Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Yogyakarta, 17-18/12/2022

    December 18, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Feeling very veery tiiired.
    Yogyakarta looks fairly interesting on first sight. I only have a couple of days here as his morning was spent haring about from bus ticket office to train ticket office to check on what are the available options. Through being faffed about by some shady bus ticket sellers, I've booked a train onto Bali for 20th Dec. It's a long 'un which will get me into Bali the following day. (Through exhaustive research, I've come to the conclusion that the luxury ekspress trains are not significantly more comfortable than the ekonomy ones).
    Following more cheap lunch near my place for two nights, Arimbi Hotel, I spent the hot afternoon at one of the nearby temple complexes. Annoyingly, the entrance price for Indonesians is 50000 INR (c. £2:63), whereas for foreigners it's 385000 INR (c. £20:26). What a multiple though! 'Indonesia Welcomes Tourists'. On balance, it was a bit of a let-down. The site is huge, but the temples are a bit 'samey'.
    I'm looking forward to a quiet day tomorrow, maybe buying a new portable hard drive for backing-up photos, definitely not much walking.
    Read more