Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Bali, 2nd Day, 22 December 2022

    December 22, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    Oh, what a difference a good night's sleep makes :)
    For breakfast, I found a little Indonesian street food place - much better, honest grub than the vegan restaurant I patronised yesterday.
    My plan for the day was to head for the beach, for the sun 'n sand thing, via a shop selling 'tours' that I'd found yesterday. On the way, I dropped into a shop and snaffled a bottle of Eau Sauvage and a new t-shirt to replace one that's on its way out. The Eau Sauvage is probably from China - not sure about the t-shirt.
    Weather-wise, the morning's are definitely better than the afternoons and evenings. Less traffic too.
    After a trip to the ATM, I booked a trip to Gili Air island off Lombok for when I check out of Bali on 26th December (Boxing Day). More about this later, but getting things planned ahead has become a constant preoccupation - as was booking my next flight and hiring a motorbike for exploring more of the Bali island tomorrow.
    Bali's still good, but not looking its best. It's hot and overcast most of the day. The monsoon seems to have stuck around, meaning the rain/wind has more or less emptied the beaches.
    Still, there are always opportunities for photographs. The little bowls of food and flowers, for instance, are 'offerings' put out on the pavement by shopkeepers, restaurant owners and so on. Every few yards there seems to be a small shrine; sometimes dressed up with offerings and even clothing.
    Read more