Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    South toward the trail

    June 17, 2022 in France ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    It was a confusing and tense morning of ticket and train matching. What would have been a simple fix in the old days of lots of station masters who can answer questions is now just a guy you wait in line for an hour to talk to who has no power to touch a Eurrail pass. I think God solved the problem for us. I think. 🤔 I activated our passes but according to my app it called my activation date my first day of travel (we get four) That leaves us one day short. I had reservations to get on the train today and I had activated the passes yesterday but my misunderstanding of what “activation” meant has us messed up. They say on the trail “the Way” will provide. The ticket collector was satisfied with the reservation tickets and didn’t actually check my Eurrail pass. That gives us back a day. The Way did provide. (Before you think I’m getting too mystical, read John 14:6. That’s my understanding of The Way.)

    So now we are getting out of the city on the TGV going 300 km/hr for a smaller, slower town. Jon and I have never been to Bordeaux and since the train from Paris to St Jean ran though here anyway we decided to get off and look around. Paris, a city known for style and fashion was hard for me with my three practical zero fashion hiking outfits and no makeup or styling products. I’m sure I looked like a homeless person to them but on the trail I think I’ll fit right in.

    I think the whole world is in a heat wave right now. It’s 104 F in Bordeaux. Yuck. It will cool off before the hike but it will also be rainy. Hmmmmm. Which is better?!

    On the upside, our two rooms in the Hilton are luxurious compared to that one room in the hostel in Paris. (These were way cheaper too!)

    I also saw another couple that was dressed like us- probably other Camino hikers. Slobs unite!

    We went to the old town of Bordeaux which turns out was settled by the Romans. I drank from an ancient Roman well (I’m sure the water was fine) and we stumbled on a cathedral that was built in 800’s. No… not 1800’s! My bucket list thing was to put my 104F feet into the Miroir d eau.

    Considering Europe is known for their lack of ice and tepid beer I’m surviving considerably better than I’d have thought. I just really want an ice cold water though.
    Read more