Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 12

    To Ubud

    20 августа 2023 г., Индонезия ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Woke up feeling a bit ropey, not sure if it is illness or aches from yesterday, or both, thankfully an easy day today.

    I walked from the hotel, along the seafront to where I was meant to be catching the bus at 2.30. It was a nice walk, but it's pretty much resorts and hotels the whole way. I made it to the spot, found the pick up point and went in hunt of some food, preferably with air con as was sweltering (again, not sure if this was illness, the heat or both). Found a nice little cafe and sat out in the breezy garden with my mango juice and smoothie bowl, reading to kill the time. I thought I'd better check my tickets etc and that's when I realised I had booked the wrong day, 21st not 20th 🤦🏼‍♀️ couldn't get hold of the bus company to change it so had to get a blue ird taxi there instead, although a lot comfier than a bus, it cost be another 290,000. Idiot.

    Anyway, I made it to Ubud, in one piece and before the bus that I wasn't on would have gotten me there. Checked into my hotel and it is lovely! Have a carved wooden, 4 poster bed overlooking their temple/shrine and water fountain, with a pool to boot.

    Decided to do about of exploring, a quick look at Google maps showed that Ubud Palace was really near so went and had a look. Couldn't get into lots of parts of it but it was nice to walk around (and free). From here I went to the Water Palace (palace seems to mean temple) which was ok but not worth 35000 to walk up to a decorative wall and out again. They put me in a purple sarong and white jacket with a little head thing (the men had a different head thingy). Unfortunately, one of the water lily pools was being cleaned out or repaired so didn't get to see much of the water aspect. Had a nice wander round some markets before heading back, early night needed as getting up at 1.45am tomorrow.
    Читать далее