Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Hakone

    September 15, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    My wheeled holdall was forwarded from Nikko to Takayama whilst I took just my backpack for the two nights in Hakone. The luggage forwarding service in Japan was excellent.
    We did our previous journey in reverse leaving the Chinese Maples in Nikko to return to Tokyo Central Station from where we took a Shinkansen to Odawara where I had a udon noodle lunch.
    Greater Tokyo lasted for the 40 minutes from Utsonowiva to Tokyo Central. There was no Green Belt around Tokyo and other large cities.
    Using our Hakone 3-day Free Pass, we took a local train to Gora, the funicular/cable car to Sounzan, and the ropeway to Owakudani at an elevation of 1000m. where there were sulphur fumaroles and where I bought my Japan Number 1 cap having lost my other cap in Nikko. We took the ropeway down to Togendai on Lake Ashi and then a bus to Fuji Hakone Guest House. which was a ryokan with shared facilities as in Nikko. It also had a piano with Beatles and other sheet music.
    There was thunder, lightening and rain before we went down the road for a Chinese meal.
    Read more