Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 12

    Miyajima

    20 september 2023, Japan ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    The tram to the ferry port took an hour, and then we caught a ferry, together with lots of schoolchildren, for the 10 minute ride to the island of Miyaajima.
    Passing a deer, and after eating oyster croquettes for lunch, I visited the Itsukushima Shrine with its red torri gate appearing to float in the sea. Then I walked uphill through a forest to the first of two ropeways which reached a viewpoint at 1400ft. overlooking the Inland Sea and its many islands. I didn't continue to the top of the mountain because of the time it might take plus it was a hot and sticky day. It would have been good to spend a night on the island at a ryokan, and get up early to go to the top of the mountain for sunrise.
    After descending on the ropeways, I visited the 616 year-old five-storied pagoda next to the 434 year-old Hokoku Shriine.
    I bought a mano sundae before catching the return ferry and then the tram back to our hotel.
    I spent time on my iPad researching researching holdalls and finding Osprey dealerships in Kyoto and Osaka.
    We returned to the okonomiyaki cafe for dinner.
    Läs mer