Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Matsumoto

    October 18, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    After breakfast, I visited the new City Museum which had an exhibition about the first exposition in Matsumoto in 1873 plus a permanent exhibition about the city and the surrounding mountains.
    Then I went to the relatively new Museum of Art which had wonderful illusionary light installations and a golden pumpkin, similar to the one on Naoshima, by Yoyoi Kusama.
    I went to a costume-hire shop, Hanakomichi, where two ladies were very pleased to see me because most of their business was hiring kimonos rather than samurai warrior costumes. They dressed me together with a sword and with a picture of Matsumoto Castle as a background. They wanted me to walk outside around the Castle but I drew the line at that. They were going to put some of the photos they took on Instagram.
    I went to a Nepalese restaurant for dinner. The town was very quiet by 19.00.
    Matsumoto was a very attractive small city in a valley surrounded by mountains. where there would be winter sports.
    Read more