Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Niigata

    November 2, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Using our IC Cards, we took a local bus to a rare Catholic church, and then to the Saito summer villa and garden, an example of Meiji-era architecture with sliding doors and some wall paintings.
    We walked to the Art Museum to see an exhibition by the local photography club plus a gallery of paintings.
    At lunchtime, I walked to the Hakusan Park and Shrine where small children in national costume were being photographed.
    I walked along the embankment of the Shinano River, the longest in Japan, for a few kilometres and almost reached the Sea of Japan, passing a few signs in Russian. Retracing my steps back into town, I went to the 20th floor of the Media Ship building for an overview of the city, river and sea.
    I had an early dinner at a western-style restaurant, and then looked at the Paris 2024 information on my iPad.
    Read more