Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Cerro Kennedy and Sierra Nevada

    February 7, 2023 in Colombia ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    There is a certain melody in which I pronounce “Sierra Nevada” because it awakes a distant childhood memory when I read a book of the same name.

    Little did I know then that I would be literally a breath away from its snowy peaks some 20 years later. Cerro Kennedy seemed like a logical choice for two nature lovers and adventure seekers like Milan and I. It meant two days without internet, inability to book accommodation in advance and just being completely cut off the world and most of the touristy craziness happening in the lower altitudes.

    We opted for a hostel called El Ramo, as a recommendation of another traveler. I cannot express my happiness when I discovered many hammocks and swings waiting for me to jump in. To get there, we first had to take a bus for half an hour. Then we had to walk some 20 kilometers uphills. At some point we officially entered national park, and it was a subtle change of environment: air thickened, light was dimmed with constantly passing fog (read: cloud forest) and pine trees mixed with tropical trees scents started tickling our alveolars.

    On the way up, a dog, looking very much like German Shepard, started following us. Over the next three days he will prove to be one of the most loyal animal buddies that I’ve ever had. He followed everywhere, waited patiently for us, led the way when we were not sure which trail to take. Miss you Hassan 💕

    El Ramo is run by a local family of very modest and easy-going people. The place is full of plants, flowers and humming birds. They were literally everywhere and really added up to the special warmth of this place.

    Cerro Kennedy itself is closed for visitors as it is a military property, but a viewpoint on the way to it is really a perfect spot to wait for the sunrise and admire the vastness of the snowy massif of Sierra Nevada.
    Read more