Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 30

    Last day of the trip

    26 december 2022, Zuid-Afrika ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Today was the last day of our trip and therefore also the last day together. We originally still had plans to take the bus into the city but we both felt so terrible because of the idea of having to say goodbye that we ended up staying at the accommodation and just tried to get the best out of the last hours together. Because it was Christmas Monday a lot of places were closed so we eventually went to McDonald's to get an early take away meal and after eating that and a quick stop at the corner shop to buy some snacks and drinks for the long journey ahead we couldn't avoid the unavoidable and really had to go towards the bus station where Matthew had to get on the bus that would take him back to Fort Beaufort. This was insanely difficult and that's also the reason I'm only updating this last bit of the blog now because ever since that bus left with him on it I couldn't stop crying anymore. People at the bus station were incredibly nice to me and hugged me and told me I would see him again. Even now I'm still thinking about the beautiful words Matthew told me on this last day together "don't cry because it's over but smile because it happened" and that's really what I'm trying to do no matter how hard it is. This time together and this entire trip and having all these adventures together was truly amazing and that are memories that no one can ever take away from us 🥰 despite struggling incredibly much to keep it all together when I had to take the Myciti bus back to Brooklyn and walk the last bit to our accommodation I still made a short stop at the same spot we stopped the day before to take one last picture of Table mountain with the sun setting behind it. After that I went back to the accomodation to pick up my luggage and get an Uber to the airport. Elizabeth our host immediately saw that I wasn't doing well and just hugged me and ordered that Uber for me and stayed with me until the Uber was there to pick me up. I feel so blessed and grateful for meeting so many amazing and kind people during this entire trip.Meer informatie