Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 118

    No vulcano, but 7 waterfalls

    December 12, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    While we were hoping that Fynn wouldn’t get food poisoning from the Beef Rendang that he ate, it was Mo who got sick.
    We had no idea where it came from, but it seemed like Mo had food poisoning or a really bad sunstroke 😟 he had really bad stomach problems for about 3 days and had to stay at our hostel for two whole days, so we had to change our plans - actually we wanted to do a 2Day-1Night hike to the rinjani vulcano. We were all very disappointed, but tried to make the best out of the situation. Fynn and me tried to take turns to take care of Mo and bring him some food, so that Fynn could have some last surf sessions and I could do a day trip to see more waterfalls (which had actually been the plan for our time in Lovina back then when Mo and me had covid).
    The waterfall tour was nice (although I didn’t feel completely comfortable with the guide that I had to take there - on Lombok I unfortunately experienced many local guys who made some stupid jokes or made me uncomfortable in some way 😠).

    Buuut in the end I saw seven waterfalls and still had a good time exploring the hiking there. On the scooter ride I saw beautiful rice terraces directly next to the street and traditional villages. The most traditional village on Lombok is Sade, where I made a quick stop on my way back to Kuta. The houses in Sade look almost exactly like all the villages have been looking on Lombok more then 40 years ago. The people in Sade try to maintain the village and its traditions and are therefore partially funded by the Indonesian government.

    When I came home the three of us (Mo was fit enough again🥳) went out for a last dinner in Kuta together. The three of us had to share a scooter because we already gave the other two scooters back. Mo and me trusted Fynn to drive safe enough with the two of us on the backseat - at least he had gone all around Bali by scooter!! 😅

    In the restaurant we celebrated the three weeks that we had traveled together and the good time we had shared (despite all the illnesses we had to go through😅) with some delicious burgers…and Mo was finally convinced to buy a bracelet by the kids that (sadly) were seen a lot in the restaurants and Warungs, trying to sell a bracelet or a Sarong.

    On the next day Fynn was about to leave Lombok to go to Flores and Komodo and Mo and me planned to go to Nusa Penida one day after him.
    Read more