Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day one - arrival in Siem Reap

    June 16, 2023 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    A fulll 21.5 hours after leaving home on Thursday afternoon I landed in Siem Reap, greeted by a wall of hot and humid air that was quite the shock! Flying into Siem Reap this time was also very different. Last year we arrived in Monsoon season and journeyed over the most incrediblely vast inland lake. This year, near the end of the dry season, the country appeared so dry and barren. Having said that, Siem Reap still feels very lush, and we had a short burst of rain around 4pm. I met the wonderful Kirsty, our onsite program coordinator for the first time at Singapore Airport and the two of us have barely drawn breath since meeting - such easy company! It was so wonderful to return to Moy's where I stayed last year and be greeted by familiar faces (the video is the view from my balcony). Kirsty and I spent the afternoon strolling around some of the city, enjoying our first lunch in the same place I first visited when I arrived last year (creature of habit!) Our strolls were sadly curtailed by me getting blisters from my thongs, which I guess arose because my feet were stll a little swollen from the flight). After a bit of a soak of our feel in the pool, we journeyd out again for a foot massage, and then enjoyed dinner in a Khmer restaurant (which only had tourists as patrons, so not sure how "Khmer" the locals think it is!) Then, early to bed - absolutely exhausted!Read more