Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Grand Bahama - Shark diving

    May 16, 2023 on the Bahamas ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Monday - Arrived in Freeport on the 15th and walked to Port Lucaya to get some conch fritters and fried lobster from Daddy Brown’s conch stand which were amazing. He was very nice and funny. The food made me sick because gluten so I went home and laid down after. The walk was not as close as I’d have liked so I decided to rent a car the next day for the next couple of days because taxis are expensive here.

    Tuesday - I got up early to rent my car and had enough time to grocery shop before diving. The store had a lot of food I could eat like gluten free pasta and pancakes and almond milk which was nice. Then I went to the harbor and met up with Cristina and her husband Kewin and her student Kevin. I didn’t get to bring my camera equipment because she’s had bad experiences in the past but she was very nice about it so unfortunately I don’t have any footage from the dives. It was a perfectly glassy day with no wind and the sharks came to the boat right as we moored at the dive site. We suited up and I sat about 10 feet from Cristina and her student while a tornado of Caribbean reef sharks circled them and Kevin learned how to read their behavior and interact with them. They also would come swarm me and it was so amazing. On the second dive Cristina had one relaxed in her lap petting it and she carried it over to me (an 8 foot Caribbean reef shark) and I got to sit with the shark for like 5 minutes which was amazing.

    After we got back we made plans to meet up later so I could participate in a women’s diving hall of fame mentorship panel at Cristina and Kewin’s house and then I went home and took a nap. The panel was great and I played with their dogs for awhile and then went home. 11/10
    Read more