Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Airport adventures

    January 7 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 4 °C

    Hello everyone! (All five of you)

    I am currently at Philadelphia airport, a lovely and very sanitary locale. The outlets are conveniently located above my head, and there are only five for an entire gate of passengers. I walked here from my arrival gate, asking a few people for shuttle directions until I realized that walking was my only choice. 30 minutes later, I arrived sweaty and clutching an overpriced, flaccid croissant. But don’t mistake this for bitching. From this ordeal I gained a newfound respect for my brave mother, who carried a backpack of the same weight on an entire pilgrimage through Spain.

    I am excited to go, and also shaking in my doc martens. It’s starting to become clear that I can’t turn back, and it’s also hard to pay attention to writing because my neighbors, some blonde American students, are loudly discussing a scheduling drama that I would eavesdrop on if they were actually talking about something interesting. I am bracing myself for a long flight. I miss my family. But it’ll be ok.
    Read more