Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 74

    A moment of spring

    March 20 in France ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Im pretty exhausted today. Class from 10-5 and the last one is three hour ordeal on European economic integration that seems to drain every last drop of concentration that I have.

    I always come home and open my window to let in the clean air. Clear away the things strewn around the apartment from when I rushed out the door this morning. Outside, evening is just beginning to set in. But today I heard something. The strains of someone practicing the saxophone in the distance. I paused to pick out the notes of of the theme: F C Bb Ab F. The voices on the street and chirping intermingled with the melody, as the floral perfume of my neighbor’s budding garden floated inside. And for a small moment I forgot about my worldly troubles. It’s spring in Paris and life is starting to return outside. I am surrounded by a world that I can’t always see, by people whose names I don’t know, but today their presence could be heard.

    A ten second video doesn’t capture the essence quite well enough, and neither do my descriptions. But if you turn the volume up all the way, perhaps you’ll be able to make out the saxophone and hear the sound of the 13th coming to life.
    Read more