Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Leaving Boston

    December 17, 2021 in South Korea ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    I was happy to have passed the Thai Pass inspection and my actual flight to Thailand was likely. I went to the Air France Lounge and the young woman who checked me in was surprised I was on the same flight as the ostensibly Korean students who appeared to be heading home for the holidays. It was about a 21 hour flight. I can say one thing. I was very well fed, for free. The Air France lounge, I have the Priority Pass, which I received from my AMEX Platinum. Nice benefit! Not sure it’s worth it to get the card just for this. It is great when there is a layover.
    When I checked in the clerk said I had a middle seat on the first flight, but a window on the Seoul to Bangkok leg. She said the clerk at Korean Air could put me on a list to get a different seat if someone doesn’t show up.
    I checked in with the clerk there, who said I did actually already have a window seat and the boarding pass was incorrect. Good thing I found out about this before boarding the flight!
    Shortly after takeoff, we had dinner, Bibimbap. Came with a separate bowl of rice and desert. We were offered red or white wine. I think you could have unlimited alcohol but it was never actually offered. After about six hours a snack was offered. I chose the pizza pocket and it was just that. I wished I’d chosen the banana.
    Later on we had another nice meal. I chose the beef stew (chicken stew the other choice) and it was a very nice meal as well. No offer of wine but had some soft drink.
    After we landed (five movies later) I went to the Matins lounge using Priority Pass, and they had a very nice spread. As full as I already was I couldn’t help but try a delicious stir fry from the buffet. They also had a nice beer on tap. I noticed later there were lockers near the wash room which would have been useful.
    Next flight was only six hours. Ginger beef was my choice, could have had the chicken stew. I imagine the chicken stew was like the beef stew except with chicken. Ginger beef was my least favorite, though I liked it and the side dishes were nice. We also were served ice cream cups, raspberry cheesecake. It was a nice thought.
    Finally!! Bangkok!
    We were given chairs to sit on whole another inspection of Thai Pass, some other papers out of my little stack. Then I went to a passport line.
    After getting my bags I found the Marriott person and in no time I was in a private van going through Bangkok.
    We stopped at a hospital and I had a drive through Covid test. The Doctor or Nurse was very pleasant. Then to my hotel room which was very nice. I took a bath in the large bath tub. Since I like baths! I figure very few people use it. Just a little awkward to get in and out of it.
    I woke up early the next morning. I made some of the Copper Cow pour over coffee I brought. I decided to call the lobby to find the results of my Covid test. I wasn’t worried. I’ve had so many Covid tests lately. It was negative. I can leave my room!
    Read more