Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    On to Ko Lipe!

    December 26, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Leaving for Ko Lipe! Before going to the ferry dock took a few final photos of Ko Phi Phi!
    One of the drawbacks of “Island Hopping” is that I feel like I loose a day on every transition! Packing in the morning (I wake up early so it makes no sense to pack the night before) then go to the ATM to make sure I have ample funds just in case. Lugging my bags around to some degree. Traveling, even if it’s a short trip is tiring.
    Going from Ko Phi Phi to Ko Lipe took about four hours. I waited at the dock in the hot Sun. A couple and there bags had all the shade underneath the awning of the 711. I was one of the last in because I had to carry my bags along this green surface that bags don’t roll well over.
    It is tricky getting into the speedboat! It is slippery though there is help. Two of my bags are waterproof I kept thinking!
    This man I was next to I had the feeling didn’t’t like me. He’s not the first I’ve met from a country where people are rude. Not sure which country it is! So Americans are not so bad! Americans are a little more friendly, a little more open and polite. Shocking, I know!
    People were starting to get off. “Should you be getting off?” He said. I was confused since we were all getting off there. I got up but it didn’t make a difference since it was awhile before I was going to get out since I was in the back.
    At least they just threw the bags into the next boat so I didn’t have to carry them! What a relief!
    Next time I’m getting a larger wheeled bag!!!
    On the next leg there was a woman next to me trying her best to sit as far away from me as possible. Am I paranoid? Another impossibly thin white housewife with kids.
    Finally out of what seemed an impossibly long trip, just went on and on. I was told by my host I could pick up a motorcycle taxi. As I carried my bags to shore (which looked lovely by the way) I saw people being picked up by motorcycle taxi. I saw one then another man stepped in front of me! I am not imagining things! I know he saw me. The cab driver said he’d take both of us. So there! He was even rude when he got out, at a not fantastic hotel attached to a coffee shop (I guessed) not so great as the Lipe Beach Resort! Ha!
    He said “you’ll need to move for me to get out” not “pardon me” or “excuse me” just wondering which is the rude country? Australia?
    Not that it ruined my day. What I find is there are many tourists from other countries. So most people do not speak English.
    When I arrived at Ko Lipe check in was smooth. Love my room! Surprised to find no microwave. Not a big deal just that I had purchased food at a 7/11 that I had thought I could eat while I was there since I hadn’t got around to eating it. So I brought it with me to Ko Samui.
    Had dinner at the resort and a reviewer had said “bad food” but my Larb was very tasty & hit the spot. Right on the beach!
    Travel seems to take most of the day unless it’s a really short trip. And it is tiring!
    Read more