Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    A very Special Restaurant!

    December 28, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Found my way to Walking Street. I enjoyed the walk for the most part! Sometimes the humidity builds up and the heat! On a dirt road with the heat of the day it can be rather uncomfortable. The good part was seeing interesting things. Like the little restaurant where a very pleasant woman said “hello” in Thai. I decided to make the sacrifice of coming for dinner to help the local economy not expecting much. The restaurant closes at 6:00pm butt my bedtime is 7 or 8 pm so this was not too problematic. When I arrived she asked me if I would like to sit outside on the beach? I didn’t know she had outdoor seating!
    It was wonderful. A deck with a small bar with four what looked to be beer bottles. Wanting to try a Thai beer that looked exotic no English on the bottle I was surprised it was sold warm. I wondered if this type beer is sold warm?
    Upon tasting it I realized it is not beer! It was Whiskey! I was disappointed.
    My dish came. I ordered the chicken with basil and she got the spice level right. It is difficult to say how spicy, I like spicy but not too spicy!
    I went back two more times, I got the fried chicken (not coated, more like stir fry) which came with a fried egg and a sauce which was like a vinaigrette with large pieces of garlic or shallot in it. The last time I went a woman was happily peeling a large metal bowl of shrimp. She said the fresh shrimp just came in and would I like Pad Thai with fresh shrimp?
    They had saved the whiskey for me. She told me it is better with green tea. It was much better with the bottled green tea she brought out!
    When I told her this was my last evening on Ko Lipe she said “see you next time” and was gracious and smiling and pleasant as always.
    Read more