Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Last full Day Ko Lipe

    December 29, 2021 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Woke up at 5:30am, later than usual! Used my free breakfast coupon for pancakes this morning with mixed fruit, pineapple and mango. Delicious. Ordered a Cappuccino.
    My game plan was to do my laundry, arrange my trip from Ko Lipe to Ko Samui, and see the rest of Walking Street. I knew I really needed to finalize that trip first and foremost, since it is a six to ten hour trip.
    I stopped at the travel agency where the man told me to come the day before my trip. I hated waiting this long. When I stopped there a woman told me he was not there yet and to come back before lunch. I stopped on my way back from shopping and she said she could make the arrangements. I decided on a taxi ride from Pak Bara to the port where I would pick up a ferry to Ko Samui. I also had to take a ferry to Pak Bara from Ko Lipe. She had a young golden cat, which she said his name means golden in Thai. She said he had no parents and she had adopted him. The cat sat contentedly on the counter. Although I paid 5,500 BT that was about $168.00 so I think a pretty good price!
    Next fetched my laundry from the washer, put it out to dry. Walked into town for last minute shopping.. Mainly for myself! I like it that in Ko I Lipe the store owners said I can do a try on. At Phi Phi no one had a dressing room. Sometimes they allow trying on over clothes but not as good.
    I actually took an iPad cord and knotted it at several places so I could make a rough measurement when I saw a bathing suit cover up I liked! Thank goodness the store owner offered to let me try it on. The washroom was wet that he offered to me but it was really worth it to do a try on. I decided on the white version. But maybe I should have got the black? I just thought the white was less shop worn.
    That was my first day. This day I had realized I did not see all of Walking Street. When I took the long boat trip I had realized when people were dropped of near their hotel that there is a part of walking street that goes down to Sunset Beach.
    I saw one shop with some amazing goods. A dark skinned man with lose dreadlocks told me again, I can try on!
    I ended out with a handmade black dress, so nice. I think it will serve some use in the Spring or Summer, possibly fall. I also purchased a bag that was around $50.00. Seems so expensive at $1,200 BT! I was looking at another two bags. He’s so suspicious. He moved the bags I noticed, to a place he could see them from his counter. Kept asking me how I was doing with try ons (in his bedroom) and it was a hot day so try on went slower than usual. But, there could be theft from tourists or even non tourists. When I decided to purchase the bag he took some photos for his website of me wearing the bag!
    I also found some pants, perfect for this weather! In another shop that even had a changing room.
    I was looking for a sushi 🍣 restaurant. I thought I saw an ad on the shore. Could not find it. The fish they have would make great sushi, and some restaurants serve it, but it is unusual.
    I settled on a mango passion fruit drink and figured I’d skip lunch since I am never really hungry in the day in Thailand. I decided on an early dinner at my Very Special Restaurant.
    Read more