Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Easter Sunday

    April 12, 2020 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    The past week has been pretty hectic. I've been super busy with quarter end at work so all my quarantine activities have taken a back seat. We got amazing weather for Good Friday & Easter Saturday. - the Gardai were out in force to make sure no one got any ideas about straying more than 2km from home to any of the hotspots! Seapoint, 40 foot and Sandycove are all shut with barriers up.

    Yesterday Paul came for a run with me. Yes I know, I was surprised too! We jogged down to the pier and back. Then had a BBQ at home. In the morning we went out to the shops to get easter eggs - first we tried Dunnes but they told us it was priority time for over 70s & the queue was an hour and a half long! So we went to Supervalu instead but they were mostly sold out of easter eggs...I got a mini buttons one for myself!

    Today was overcast and rainy - the perfect day for a long run! I ran out to Mums - a bit beyond the 2km radius but I didn't feel too guilty since I didn't come across any walkers..just a few other lonesome runners in the rain! It's not as relaxing running on a nice day when there are loads of walkers out and about & I have to keep stepping out on the road to keep my 2 meters space.

    There is a bit of a war brewing between runners and walkers. Some people don't like runners sharing the footpath with them & think they are spreading the virus by sweating and breathing heavily. I haven't had any bad experiences yet but I do feel quite conscious while out running & make an extra effort to move out of peoples way.

    Had roast beef for our easter Sunday lunch today & ate lots of choccy! Garrett dropped off a Lindt easter egg this morning which is now in my tummy. Mia just got a delivery of a liter tub of ice cream from Arctic Stone! Hopefully I won't have any later as I already feel sick haha!

    Had a little Easter egg hunt with Mia in the back garden - I'd love to be in Rosslare doing an easter egg hunt with Lisa and Anna but this is nearly as good!

    I forgot I had booked a Tesco delivery for 9am this morning...Was woken up to the tesco delivery man dropping off a single carton of milk! Nooooo! They charged me €11 for the milk and I already have 2 cartons so it will probably end up going off! Might not bother booking any more online slots for now - I prefer popping to the shops - I go at the quieter times when the queue to get in is only 5 or 10 minutes & I make sure to disinfect after!
    Read more