Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    The sun rises and it sets

    October 27, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Yet another pre-dawn wake up. And yet another sun rise blacked by rain clouds.

    Me and two girls in my room decided to wake up tow watch the sun rise from the lagoon down by the beach. So instead was we went for a dawn swim in the rain. I am loving swimming in the rain.

    After spending as much time there as possible before the UV levels got too high, we went back to the hostel. Have breakfast and showered the salt water away. Then did a little shopping trip. I got a large 1litre bottle, so I am now a water bottle girl, living her best life. Also picked up another pair of shorts because everything is so sweaty, its grim.

    I then met a Daisy for lunch. She did all of the driving on our Great Ocean Road trip. It was nice to see her again and to catch up. It had only been 2 weeks since we last saw each other but it feels like months! Had an amazing egg and bacon roll, top tier.

    I then spent the rest of the afternoon with the girls in our air conditioned room doing admin stuff. I am now one step away from having my RSA, got lectured by a woman over my RSG and booked my bus and accommodation at Mission Beach. I have been doing a few interviews in Adelaide over the phone and in person since arriving in Cairns. Thanks to hours of headaches and applications, I am moving to Missiom Beach Resort on Monday to begin working as a bartender. I am very excited about this as it is perfect for my experience, and will count as my 88days so come February I should be able to apply for my second year visa!!! It has been a lot of work, but I'm so excited.

    After finishing all of that pains, the three of us headed back down to the beach to watch the sunset. We met a few others down there and went for food at the Night Market. I chose the smallest tub as I wasnt feeling great but the woman still filled it so much. I had to eat a load before I could take a photo scared it would all fall out!

    Unfortunately after eating I began to feel really ill. I think a combination of the heat, humidity, stress, and lack of sleep combined to make me feel like I was dying. Thankfully the girls were really nice and walked back with me. After an hour of lying horizontal and one of the other girls giving me an electrolyte tablet, I was feeling so much better.

    Finished off the evening chatting about travels and packing everything up. Got another early morning for a tour tomorrow.
    Read more