Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Big ass lake

    October 28, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    We did a bit of animal searching. Tried to find some tree kangaroos and platypus's but were entirely unsuccessful.

    Ended our trip with a visit to an exceedingly large lake. By this point, the sun had gone in and it was raining, everyone was tired and a bit damp. But this lake was exactly what we all needed. It was warmer in the water than it was out of it. And jumping in was so fun. I have a video of the three of us doing it together but I cannot upload it which is really annoying. The lake itself was gorgeous and we weren't here long but so much fun. It is a fresh water lake so we were all having to work so much harder to stay afloat it was kind of funny how bad we all were.

    The journey back was was over an hour but we were all so tired I think half the bus was asleep for most of it. I did not sleep and am glad for this as the scenery was worth staying awake for. I have officially fallen in love with the tropics around Cairns. The trees, the vibes, I'm really liking it here.

    Once back in the city, I grabbed my backpack and made the treck to my second hostel. Thankfully it was only a few blocks away but I was melting by the time I arrived. This hostel is much nicer than Gilligans, not surprising as it is a YHA and they are always nicer. But literally no one is speaking to each other. I entered my room and they are mostly guys who are clearly long timers, which is a stark contrast to my hostel room at Gilligans which was all girls and we all got on so well. But it's no biggie.

    I spent the evening Cairns' arts centre at a comedy show. It was a great evening. There were 5 local acts, I didn't get all the jokes as they references Aussie things that I dont know or understand being here only a few weeks. Then the final act was Luke Kidgell. He has become very popular on social media for his failures with audience members. He was amazing. I've been following him for a while so when I saw he was headlining in Cairns the one week I am here I knew I had to go. A very good decision.

    Then ended the evening with a video call home
    I have sort of treated today as my birthday. Odds on I will be working the 8th, so it made sense to do today as my celebration. I did the best tour with new friends, made more throughout the day and saw a show in the evening. A full packed and great 21st.
    Read more