Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 119

    Tassie Tour

    January 21, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Yesterday was a lot.

    Started off at 8am, headed down to the Salamanca Markets. It was super busy but they had loads of Tasmania made products which was cool. Almost every stall was full of Tasmaina only so I will definitely be going back there next week.

    We then drove all the way up to the top of Cradle Mountain. Unfortunately the clouds were covering the city so we didnt stay long. It is supposed to be one hell of a view so I will do the hike again and see it on a good day.

    We then made the drive to Richmond. It felt like home there. Lots of Victorian style buildings, felt very European. I've missed that so it was nice being there. I did get a nasty surprise though from the tour guide. No food is provided at all. I didnt expect food to be provided all the time but at least some here and there, like I've paid a lot for this tour I expected some food. So that will end up being expensive but hopefully the views make up for it.

    We then went to a animal sanctuary. Very similar to the one on the Melbourne tour except they had some Tasmanian Devils. They had a successful breeding program last year so there were babies. They were so cute. Like ah I could not. They had a bunch of other animals but I had seen all of those so I just stuck with the Tassie Devils.

    From there we had a little tour of Bicheno where we will be staying the next 2 nights. Then headed to the memorial grave of Wauba Debar. She saved her husband from drowning in the 1800s and is the only aboriginal person to be memorialised in the 1800s. Noone else was honoured in that way until the late 1900s early 2000s. It is now tradition to visit her grave and lay a flower upon it when you visit Bicheno.

    We finished off the day with some food at the only place in town that didnt serve solely fish. I had pasta for $19 it was ok. Not very nice but food is food and it was the cheapest thing on the menu.

    I went for a bit of a walk afterwards then fell asleep super early. I am so tired and need more sleep.
    Read more