Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 150

    Do you ever?

    February 21, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    Do you ever wonder about the statistics of your life?

    I dont know why but I thought about it yesterday and I cant get it out of my mind. I'm just so curious now.

    For instance, how many people have I had a conversation with? What percentage of my life have I need asleep? Those are like mundane ones, but I thought of it first when I was at work. I was standing polishing cutlery and was so curious about how many knives I must have polished in my life. I mean, I've been working hospo for 3 ish years now, I must have polished a lot.

    And then other things, like how many times have I narrowly escaped injury? Or how many hours have I spent reading?

    I don't know why I just keeping thinking of new ones. I'd love that to be something you could know.

    Anyways, that's a little view into my weird brain.

    Did a 12 bell practice on monday. My first ever and it was all simulated on the computer. There are 12 bells in the tower but 2 are semitones so rung on all 12 normally is just not a good noise. The tower captain is creating a computer program that assesses the ringing and the ringers individually. The program is insanely clever, it gives perfect stats on who is ringing to fast or slow. If anyone was out, its insanely clever mechanics. Obviously they are just linked to the hobart bells currently as the sensors have to be put in perfect timings to get the accurate readings, but it is definitely a way to modernise ringing. Any mathematician or scientist would have a field day with it once it is perfected. It makes my brain very happy to look over.

    I also bought myself some wool. It isnt a great photo as the wool is actually a light blue. But I decided I wanted to make something. It took me around a week to figure out what I could make that I actually need but finally got it. I am making a laundry bag. Its hard to organise a backpack when it comes to dirty and clean clothing because it all fits in one spot. So hopefully with this I will be able to separate it out easier. I dont really like this pattern, I dont think the holes are big enough so I am going to make it again with a 2 chain gap between the stiches and hope that is bigger. Might need it to be 3, not sure yet.
    Read more