Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 155

    Not a great time

    February 26, 2023 in Australia

    This last week or so has not been good. It's that simple.

    I wasnt initially going to add this in but I will for when I look back on this the dead space of time can be explained. If I forget. I hope I do forget.

    I had three very bad shifts at work. That was the beginning. Between shitty customers and horrible moments it was not a great few shifts. The staff are friendly but the rules over here for allergies and food knowledge are a lot less extreme than in the uk. This can be exhausting. When I am taking my usual routes and precautions, because i will not be the person who sends someone else into anaphylaxis, the lack of aid from other staff is exhausting. When someone could die from a mistake, I wont be the reason for that mistake.

    I lost my key and had to buy a new one. A non refundable $50 is a severely large amount for a lost key. It simply added insult to injury.

    On my way home from work a drunk guy tried to grab me. I made sure he regretted doing so. But it is yet again exhausting and frustrating. I am not the easy target he thought I was but I really would have appreciated not having to deal with it. I have never felt unsafe while travelling before. I still feel safe, but it is an unpleasant reminder.

    And finally, I ended up in hospital. I'm fine, but still in some pain but ok. They did some tests that came back negative and I asked to go as the pain had gone down. I'm still not sure what happened but other than losing a night of sleep, no real side effects.

    I believe Hobart would be a lovely place to build a life but it is not for me. I do not know what direction my life is taking me in but too many signs are pointing me away from here.
    Read more