Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 174

    Going for a wander

    March 17, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    After visiting the gardens I decided to walk around for a bit.

    I visited the house of parliament, a very nice building. A little memorial near the gardens that had quotes written into the stone. I thought that was cute. Another pergola, a lot of them are dotted about and I love the style of their designs. I feels very oriental and I like them.

    I took another of the free bus journeys. This one is new and goes right out of the city. It led to the university which runs alongside Matilda Bay which is a nice little port with a tiny beach. I ended up spending a couple hours there just relaxing in the sun and watching the animals. It is a hotspot of dog walkers and birds so there was a lot going on.

    Once back in the city I decided to visit the old court house museum. It is the oldest building in WA still standing and had a large amount of stories from when it was built. Lots of stories of aboriginals who were unfairly punished by laws they didnt believe in. But there were also stories of people advocating for correct treatment and aboriginal rights which is good to read about. Not all the british settlers were bad.
    Read more