Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 177

    Churches

    March 20, 2023 in Australia

    After lunch I headed to the cathedral. Despite its beautiful exterior I was not a massive fan of its interior. The person who designed it was also the priest at the time
    Hawes was a trained architect and designed the entire building. I did a tour and was a little disappointed that the focus was on the religious history rather than the architectural history.

    That being said the tour was also a little hard to follow. Our guide kept talking as thoigh the building was ancient but it was not. Construction began in 19,13. Built in 3 parts before finally being completed the interior has also been changed twice since then. First with vatican 2 then with a massive restoration that happened recently. As a result very little of the interior is original or in its original position. This made for a rather strange narrative that confused me greatly.

    After I head back to the beach to meet the girls from my room and after a little sunbathing we headed to a bar. We all bought this toblerone cocktail which was frankly disappointing. The girls had raved about it and said how nice it was. Personally I found it far too sweet and there was a strange taste I couldn't quite identify. Overall I didnt like it. But they made for cute photo and I enjoyed spending time with the girls.
    Read more