Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 192

    Flying

    4 aprile 2023, Australia ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    I was expecting to be more stressed on this journey but I surprised myself by being very calm.

    I woke up around 7am. Leaving me with 2 hours to finish packing, eat and prepare mentally for my journey.

    Leaving at 9 was definitely earlier than necessary but as it took me 1.5hrs to get from freemantle to the airport I'm glad I did. The train was the easy part. Sit down for 30mins and ride the train from one end of the line to the other. The difficult part was getting from perth CBD to the airport.

    They were doing rail works still meaning I had to get the rail replacement bus once more. Now I got lucky in that when I arrived at the stop the bus was already there and I hopped straight on. However, I soon learnt that I had not hopped on the 9,45 bus, I had got on the 9,30 bus. They were running so late I ended up on the earlier bus that still left after the one i meant to get.

    As a result i arrived at the airport around 10,30 and it was far too early but I do not trust public transportation. And rightfully so.

    I then got to speak to noone and checked my bag in myself. I had much anxiety over it as much boarding passes, yes I had two, and the baggage label had different notations. It later transpired that much bag got on the direct to Melbourne nearly 3hrs before I got on my flight. So very glad I checked in early as it was able to do that.

    My first flight was an experience. I was having to switch in Adelaide as the direct was far out of my price range. The flight left late which made my 1hr switch over even shorter, just adding to my anxiety.

    I also am a cheapscate and had to sit in the middle seat. Yay. Two older guys, one of which fidgeted the entire time.

    My second flight ended up being delayed however so I needn't have stressed. I bought a muffin from the same cafe I have gone to all other times I have been in adelaide airport which is a depressingly large amount now.

    Got on my second flight to Melbourne and was very happy to find myself seated again in the middle but without someone in the isle so I hastily switched and had a bit more space.

    Arriving in Melbourne airport was like coming home. I after all know it better than Gatwick at this point. From landing to my hostel bed was no more than 2hrs so I was thrilled to sleep.
    Leggi altro