Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 216

    Dumb decision

    April 28, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    Well today started off great, the middle was a little concerning, but it ended solidly.

    Woke up, had my free breakky of an omelette and toast with tea, I was buzzin. Decided to go do some 'exercise'. Ie, I went to a yoga class.

    Honestly it was a great class. Can I do yoga, no, but I had fun. Ended up in the same class as Ella, a girl I met on Gili T. She was one of us who didnt get a room but she choose to leave the next day rather than hang about. Turns out, shes on a week long yoga retreat at the place two doors down from me. Shes enjoying her solitude but we might meet up again later this weekend if shes up too it. Travelling has hit here hard, shes only 3 weeks in. So I think she is more of an all inclusive traveller than a budget backpacker.

    Back in the hostel, I decided I really didn't want to spend any longer there today as I was kinda bored. So I forced Will (from T and Meno) to hire a bike with me and go for an explore.

    We ended up in the village of Sukarara, which is an old weaving village. We arrived rather lost as google didnt say exactly where it was but we got picked up by a local and he showed us around his home. His wife was doing the weaving and he showed us all the local houses, rice fields and animal farming. Women do the weaving, men deal with the animals. Our guide ended up being so nice and explained a lot about their way of life and the celebration they were preparing for. Apparently tomorrow is a big day in the Muslim calendar. I'm not quite sure for what exactly, but it seemed important.

    Two girls,both my age were weaving out front of the shop and they let us have a go. The way they weave is fascinating and was giving me a massive headache trying to keep up with the movements. Old western wooms all have pedals you press, but this was just getting strapped in and all hand done. Absolutely incredible. It did unnernve me a little that when a woman can weave, she is ready to marry. Both girls being 21 was not quite what I liked to hear. Apparently if I could weave then I am ready too. Thank god I can weave!

    Unfortunately this was were our day got a little messy. I have done some dumb stuff in my time. Leave an idiot alone with money and no responsibility, and it's going to happen *Mum ease stop reading!* Riding a motorcycle, with faulty breaks through torrential monsoon weather is definitely up there with the dumbest. I'm sorry.

    In my defense, we have no choice. We were stuck otherwise and the weather was only going to get worse. And only the first 5 mins were bad road, the rest was properly tarmaced with diving white lines and everything. So it wasnt bad. But going more than about 40km/h makes the rain really painful. And the cars dont slow down so we did get splashed alot. Those 30mins were definitely some of the dumbest I have been through. On the bright side, the rain made the police go in so we didnt get stopped. Yay!

    Dinner was cool. Met 2 dutch sisters, one of which I am going to do surfing with tomorrow, and we went out for pizza. The most expensive meal since being in Indonesia but that burrata was amazing. And yes, that is pizza twice in two days but I dont care anymore. I only have a couple days left before aus and I dont wanna go!
    Read more