Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 222

    Explorations

    May 4, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Darwin is a strange city.

    I woke up after not great sleep thanks to the bar being super loud until 12pm. The window in our room is broken so there was no blacking the heavy music playing. The musical was also bad which didnt help.

    But I got up early so I could eat some of the free breakfast and head out for a walk around the city before it got too hot.

    Now the thing is, every city should have a draw, especially a capital. And I cant figure out what Darwin had to offer long term.

    I mean, Melbourne has coffee and the 'hip' young scene going for it. Sydney, is Sydney. Cairns has the GBR and the rainforest. Hobart had mount Wellington and the saturday markets. Every city I have been too has a draw, the reason why people go and stay. I dont know what Darwin's is.

    That being said, the city is nice. A lot of things are designed for outdoor living which makes sense given the climate. The waterfront has a lot of communal areas where it is windier and lots of water activities. There are parks dotted about and a good view, it's a nice city. I just dont know why you would choose to live here over so many other cities that have more going on.

    Maybe the solitude. The one thing darwin does have is geographical solitude.
    Read more