Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 227

    Old House of Parliament

    May 9, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    My next stop was the Old House of Parliament opposite. This building was created as the original house of Parliament when the first world war broke out, crippling any development plans for the city and its parliament.

    Now this massive building is used as a museum. Split into parts, each of the old offices and rooms is used to showcase something different. Some are still as they were originally used, redone to educate on how the senators and politicians spent their days. While others showcased different ideas.

    My favourite room was one of letter writing. A collection of old type writers were placed around the room and on the walls various prompts were placed. My favourite was a bunch of little cubby holes with different prompts, inside were a bunch of envelopes answering those prompts. Everyhting from advice to book recommendations and the one I did, a pep talk.

    The rest the exhibits were interesting if a little put of my league. There were many rooms discussing politics and the Australian government neither of which I have much knowledge or interest in so I skipped through these. Plus some rooms on journalism vs freedom of speech and all that. Not exactly a topic I like to debate as most people wouldn't agree with me.

    Overall I was impressed with the old Parliament building and can see how they out grew it.
    Read more