Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 232

    First Day

    May 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I woke up early after not sleeping. When reception opened I went and introduced myself. Everyone is super friendly and I agreed to do a shift today. I didnt really want too because I had barely slept but it's good to start of on the right foot.

    The work is basic housekeeping and this is hardly my first rodeo so it was pretty chill. It was also only 2hrs so cannot go wrong with that.

    I also moved into my new home for the next 4 weeks. It's a dorm room but only 4 of us so that's nice. I got a single bed right next to the window so I'm glad.

    After my shift the sun was shining beautifully so I joined some of the girls sun bathing by the pool. Unfortunately the pool was ice cold. And not the 'it's fine once youre in' cold, the 'this is a plunging ice pool' kind of cold.

    In the afternoon, I put my laundry on and went to woolies to get food. Unfortunately I put everything in the wash because it all needed cleaning, but this means I have no clothes left which isnt so great.

    In the evening we went out for a drink. I got a passion fruit mocktail. The bar was right on the water front and as the fun set some dolphins swam through the harbour. I had no clue Port Macquarie had anything like that. We are also entering whale season so I a few weeks we should be able to see some of them.

    I was exhausted by this point and just wanted to go to bed but the girls put on a movie so I joined them. I'm spending the next few weeks with them, itll be good if I can make friends with them quickly.
    Read more