Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 258

    Busy friday

    June 9, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Berber took a few photos of the room today. Shes leaving soon so she got a few shots and I love them. It makes the room look so much bigger than it is!

    Work today was a pain. We have a big group that had booked the entire hostel this weekend so we had to make sure every room was done and ready. This bit was fine, we do that usually. But they then sent us down to the 'white house', which is being renovated to help. After doing a bunch of lifting and carrying of things that were both sticky and had nails sticking out of them, I got asked to cut a hole. They neglected to mention that they dont have any of the correct equipment. So I was using a rising 50c saw to cut the hole in a cabinet that was fixed in place. Not fun. It took forever and my hand hurt so much after.

    Finally we finished about 3.5hrs rather than the usually 2. I didnt do much for the next few hours because I knew work was going to be busy tonight. The restaurant is right at the edge of the 'Art walk'. It is a big festival the city held this weekend of all local artists in all formats. The edge of it sag against our restaurant and the quantity of people walking last was crazy.

    It was like trying to cross a busy road trhing to fight through the flow of people while trying to serve those on the tables outside. It reminded me of Light up Hassocks, the amount of people and vibe of the place.

    As predicted work was chaotic and I did not like it. But the free food and pretty lights as I left made me happy.
    Read more