Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 364

    Ho Chi Minh City

    September 23, 2023 in Vietnam ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Dad and I spent the day walking around the city and visiting the sites. We started at the war museum, which was fascinating. The exhibit covered three floors and the outside, which was a little much in my opinion but still fascinating. There were sections on the machines, the countries involved, the countries against it, agent orange, and so much more. It was honestly incredible to experience.

    I had been told by some other travellers that the museum is better to do than the tour, and they were right. I didn't learn anything in the tour that I didn't in the museum but so much more in the museum than tour.

    The city is manic, I am very glad we are not picking up bikes here, I would not enjoy riding through this city. We found a market style place with a load of stalls for lunch as we wandered through the city. After getting highly confused on how to withdraw money from atms, we found our way back to the hostel.

    Dad then took a trip across town to see an old government building while I waited with the bags. We then caught a taxi to the train station for our night train.

    The train is pretty basic. Not awful though, we grabbed some snacks before setting off.
    Read more