Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    The Big Easel - Emerald

    June 27, 1991 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Leaving Bruce highway I will now continue with the big things I have found on my way along Capricorn Hwy and then back to Brisbane on Landsborough and Warrego highways. The area around Emerald and the gem fields is in particular seeded with plenty of Big Things,

    From Rockhampton the first 50 kms of the Capricorn Hwy are really slow due to continue road reconstruction on the way, then two hours from Rocky and my first stop, Blackwater and fond memories of my stay here in 2004/2005. After getting some water and fruits at Woolies continue to Emerald another 50 minutes ahead.

    The first big thing on this route and one of the most beautiful is the "Big Easel" which is a representation of Van Gogh Sunflower paintings and is located in the middle of park, the view is simply amazing.

    Time of visit : January 2013
    Read more